Names for Our Baby

I think we’ve been putting this off for too long.“

"Look Steve, we agreed that we wouldn’t choose a name for our baby until we thought of a really good one.”

“But The Cubs is a good name! Think: ‘The Cubs Snyder’. It’s a nice, strong name.”

“Yeah, maybe last year when the Cubs won the pennant. Have you seen them this season? That new pitcher, Kibbie, he can’t throw for shit.”

“Hey! Give him a chance! It’s a development year, you know that.”

“Yeah, whatever. Either way, I’m not naming our son after some fluke-ass baseball–”

“Last season wasn’t a fluke Christina!… How could you say that?”

“…”

“…”

“You’re right. I’m sorry. But my point stands.”

“Okay. Well do you have any better ideas?”

“Well, we had been talking about ‘Lipstick’.”

“Oh please.”

“What?”

“We’re not naming my son after your grandmother.”

“Why not? My grandmother was a wonderful person. And ‘Lipstick Snyder’ doesn’t sound like a woman’s name anyway. No one will know.”

“I’ll know. He’ll know.”

“What, so you’re saying you’re not going to love our son because he’s named after my grandmother?”

“No! I never said that.”

“Yeah?”

“No. What I mean is… Can we just name him something else?”

“Hrmph.”

“Listen, maybe we should just talk about this some other time.”

“It’s always later Steve. He’s going to be in kindergarten next week, they’re going to ask him his name. Do you want him not to have one? Do you want him to be different from all the other kids?”

“Of course not. I’m just saying, things are a little heated right now. This isn’t a choice we should make lightly. Maybe we can think of something perfect in the morning.”

“Alright. You’re probably right. Let’s go to bed.”

“I love you honey.”

“I love you too.”

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Always Turn Left

If you wanted to be a great race car driver, you could look at the best race car drivers in the country and their winning races and decide, “The best drivers are always turning left. They hardly ever turn right and if they do it’s only a... Continue →